The Winter Open 2017

14 December 2017 - 20 January 2018

Winter Open Exhibition is an annual exhibition of work from throughout the whole island of Ireland, chosen from an open submission call by Rua Red.

David Turner; Lorraine Cleary; Patricia McCormack; Aurélie; Phill Foley; Paul Hallahan; Bennie Reilly; Emma McKeagney; Laura Wade; Daithi Magner; Victoria J. Dean; Shea Dalton; Ray Murphy; Marvin Baldemor; Brian Hanlon; Eva Walsh; Mark Kelly; Beatrice O'Connell; Clare Lyons; Jane Cassidy; John Cullen; Martin Redmond; Gerry Davis; Dermot Hallahan; Danny Kelly; Sean O Rouke; Karl O Reilly; Celine Sheridan; Yvanna Greene; Fiona Finlay; Niamh Porter; Fiona Reilly; Kieran Gallagher; Gergely Eortzan Nagy; Cara Donaghey; Roisin O Sullivan; Rory Tangney; Michael Power; Robert Ellis; Mario Sughi; Rodger Hudson; Robert Dunne; Ian Cumberland; Belinda Deutinger and Olivia Hassett

15 December – 20 January

Opening reception – 14 December at 6pm

Rua Red is pleased to present the Winter Open Exhibition 2017 in Gallery 1, an annual exhibition of work from artists throughout the whole island of Ireland, chosen from an open submission call. This years exhibition boasts a range of artworks including sculptures, paintings, drawings and some stunning photography and prints. Previous exhibiting artists include: Oscar Dempsey; Tom Climent; Kevin Lindsay; Richard Forrest; Oísin O’Brien; Lucy McKenna; Mary Burke; Basil Al-Rawi; David Lunney and Helen Hughes.
Rua Red supports artists at all stages of their career. Rua Red is forming an Acquisition Committee in September 2017. The role of the committee will be to select and purchase works from the Winter Open and Café Wall exhibitions to form a collection for the organisation show within the building on a rotational basis.
The public also have the chance to vote for their favourite artwork, the artist of which will win the People’s Choice Award, a cash prize of €1000, sponsored by the Square Shopping Centre!

Alongside this years selection will be an exhibition by the 2016 Winter Open winner Oscar Dempsey.